The Custom House and the Post Office building came about as a result of the growth of Georgetown that became famous in 1779 as the port of entry into America. When the name of the port changed to Washington DC port through a bill in 1864 to abolish Georgetown, the need for a permanent structure for the Custom House and Post office was designed thanks to Ammi Young and another architect from the Treasury Department.

GET IN TOUCH

D.C Daily Tours LLC

Phone: (202) 241-0541

Email: info@dcdailytours.com

Questions? We're here to help!

call now 202-241-0541